Back
to top

Information on
Novel Coronavirus

Coronavirus is still active in NJ. Wear a mask. Keep a 6ft. distance in public

NJ Poison Control Center and 211 provide COVID-19 information: Call: 2-1-1; Call (24/7); 1-800-962-1253; Text: NJCOVID to 898-211; More Information: covid19.nj.gov
COVID19 Alert NJDownload COVID Alert NJ app for free today.
Visit covid19.nj.gov/app

Division of Taxation

COVID-19 Related Tax Information
Information about the Federal Economic Impact Payment – Stimulus Check
Important Information About Retail COVID-19 Fees and Sales Tax

$250 Veterans Property Tax Deduction

If you are an honorably discharged veteran with active wartime service, you may qualify for an annual $250 Property Tax deduction.

Veterans who served in peacekeeping missions and operations may qualify.

You also may qualify if you are a surviving spouse/civil union/domestic partner.

Eligibility Requirements

In January 2018, the wartime service criteria were amended for the 100% Disabled Veteran Property Tax Exemption. However, they were not changed for veterans applying for the $250 Property Tax Deduction.

To qualify, as of October 1 of the pretax year you must:

  • Be a legal resident of New Jersey;
  • Own the property;
  • Have active wartime service in the United States Armed Forces, as defined by the New Jersey Legislature*, with an honorable discharge.

*Found on Form V.S.S. Section 5

My Spouse/ Civil Union/Domestic Partner has Passed Away, Do I Still Qualify for This Deduction?

You may receive this deduction when your spouse passes away, if you meet the following requirements. To qualify, as of October 1 of the pretax year you must:
  • Be a legal resident of New Jersey;
  • Own the property;
  • Confirm the military service person died on active wartime duty;
  • Demonstrate the deceased veteran had active wartime service in the United States Armed Forces, as defined by the New Jersey Legislature, with an honorable discharge;
  • Document that the deceased veteran or military service person was a resident of New Jersey at the time of death;
  • Have not remarried or formed a new registered civil union/domestic partnership;
Acceptable Documentation (Documentary Proofs)
  • Death Certificate;
  • Deed;
  • Probated Will;
  • Marriage/Civil Union/Domestic Partner Certificate;
  • Military Records (DD 214):
  • New Jersey Driver’s License;
  • New Jersey Voter’s Registration.

How to Apply:

File Form Form V.S.S. and all documentary proofs with your local assessor or tax collector.

If you served in Peacekeeping Missions and Operations, you must also file a Supplemental Form .

How to Appeal if Your Application Is Denied

If your application is denied, you can file an appeal with the County Board of Taxation. File Form A-1 on or before April 1 following the denial.

Publications

For further information, please read:

New Jersey Property Tax Benefits: Are You Eligible?

Handbook for New Jersey Assessors (Chapter Four)

Contact

If you have questions, call your local assessor or tax collector, or the Division of Taxation at 609-292-7974.

If you need help documenting your veteran status call:


Last Updated: Monday, 04/20/20